Simply Pretty Stationary

The other day I stumbled upon an old shoe box filled with letters and postcards I’d received as a kid. Friends and pen-pals would write to me when I spent my summers in the US while they were all home in France. Back in the day (I sound so old when I say that ) oversees calling was not an option. It didn’t matter because I got such a kick out of writing, sending and receiving mail. I felt so mature when opening a letter.

This got me thinking to when was the last time I’d gotten a letter from one of those friends. I honestly cannot remember…No fault of theirs, up until recently, I myself hadn’t sent out letters or cards in ages.

For years now, I’v enjoyed buying beautiful stationary but never actually use it. I appreciate its aesthetic value and always say to myself, this is perfect to send so and so a card on this or that occasion. Of course, I never end up doing so. In the end, I just figure it’s easier  to send out an email.

But here’s the thing, it’s such a nice feeling to get a letter, note, card, or postcard in the mail that is not a bill or junk mail. The unexpected excitement it stirs up, the pleasure in handling quality stationary, the wonderful smell of the paper, the attention to detail and  the handwritten note that’s included. Pure bliss.

It’s one of the small pleasures in life that’s so easy to bring about and yet we tend to overlook in the day and age of email, twitter, texting, etc.. I love how technology has brought us closer and increased our interactions but once in a while, it’s nice to take a step back and partake in  one of life’s simpler acts – writing a letter to a friend for no other reason than  to say hello.

1: Bright Streamers Ski Martini Cards (x10) $15.90

2: Skateboard Pigeon Notcards  (x8) $15.50

3: Telegram Personalized Notecards (x25) $47

4: Lucky Lady Bugs Lightest Turquoise (x10) $15.90

5: Color Waves Notecards (x8) $14.95

6: Woodcut Personalized Notecards (x25) $47

1 Comment

Filed under Art de Vivre

One response to “Simply Pretty Stationary

  1. http://dream-analysis.org

    Some truly nice stuff on this website, I love it.

Leave a Reply

